Sunflowers Elizabeth Arden

Floral Fruity
Perfumer: David Apel

The Eau De Toilette Sunflowers was launched in 1993 which makes it almost a vintage piece. Sadly, I got my hands on it only recently thanks to my in-laws. I was convinced it is not going to be for me. I can appreciate a fragrance that came out before 1995; however, I rarely get any use out of it. Oldies just seem to be out of date.

Unlike Sunflowers! Yeap, there is a vintage touch to it; however, I find it wearable today. And look at the bottle when you take the cap off! It is a floral fruity scent but not juvenile by any means. The fruits are not dominant. It is rather the floral and woody part that comes through. It is a casual everyday fragrance with a clean soapy quality. There are no aldehydes so I wonder where the soapiness comes from.

There is a Brazilian rosewood that brings slightly spicy nuances to the opening. The scent has a clean powdery character due to the flower of cyclamen and orris root in the heart. Osmanthus brings leather touches. The dry-down is also not bad with woods, oakmoss, musk and amber. What can I say? It is a timeless well-thought masterpiece considering the time and price point.

Oldie but goodie. And cheapie! A clean scent you can lean on day after day.

Leave a comment