Vanille Leather BDK: A Leather Make-up Case

Vanille Leather by BDK Parfums
Amber Floral
Dominique Ropion

The inclusion of BDK’s signature pink pepper at the top, followed by the transition to a combination of “fireplace, English club, cigars” vibes, sets a warm and sophisticated tone. The interplay of violet, sweet vanilla, and subdued leather creates a complex olfactory experience, and the touch of florals adds a feminine and elegant dimension.

So, if I am to summarize the overall feel of Vanille Leather, I smell vintage make-up (violet and orris) with a lot of vanilla sweetness and a tiny bit of darkness from leather. It is a feminine perfume for cold evenings to my nose, a little bit bolder than your stereotypical lipstick fragrances. It is totally wearable, not scary at all.

It carries the BDK’s name proudly; however, it is not a scent I need to add to my collection. I feel I already have enough of make-up, lipstick smelling fragrances. My recent purchase was Babylonia by Ormonde Jayne which perfectly fits into this category. If I am in a mood for leather, I prefer something more profound and true to leather like Falcon Leather by Matiere Premiere.

I would recommend Vanille Leather for you ladies who want to kill two birds with one stone, in other words, want both make-up and leather in one bottle. For you people down to earth who cannot/don’t want to own a big amount of perfumes.

Leave a comment