Pelagos: A Block of Concrete Washed up on the Shore

Pelagos by Parfums Dusita
Woody Aromatic
Pissara Umavijani

Pelagos is a Greek word that translates into “open sea”. It is an Extrait de parfum, the highest perfume concentration, and it definitely delivers. However, it is not a typical marine scent as one would expect. At the top, I get a woody aspect from cypress and a citrusy splash from bergamot. The heart belongs to iris in all its beauty. I spot some smokiness in the base. Incense?

Pelagos is a woody citrusy iris scent. Unusual, leans masculine. Once it settles, I find it too iris-focused for my taste; plus, there is something that bothers me in the base. I cannot pinpoint what it is. Maybe the iris combined with sandalwood, who knows. It is strong and it lingers but does not overpower simultaneously. It is neither a bad nor appealing scent.

The start is pleasant like any other citrusy cedarwood masculine aroma but the heart and dry-down are not my cup of tea. It smells like sea water, sand and gravel on concrete, no good but perfume is subjective, isn’t it? You are not for me Pelagos!

Leave a comment